It Makes Me What I Am

January 6, 2008 at 10:02 pm (Passion)

While i plan on blogging on other things besides passion, i felt the need to be upfront about what i’m passionate about from the start.  This list is not all-inclusive as there are many things, but i want to cover the staples.  However, i came across a definition of passion today that i want to post first.  It covers a lot of different things and the ones i bolded are the ones that match my thinking best:

(from dictionary.com)

1. any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling, as love or hate.
2. strong amorous feeling or desire; love; ardor.
3. strong sexual desire; lust.
4. an instance or experience of strong love or sexual desire.
5. a person toward whom one feels strong love or sexual desire.
6. a strong or extravagant fondness, enthusiasm, or desire for anything: a passion for music.
7. the object of such a fondness or desire: Accuracy became a passion with him.
8. an outburst of strong emotion or feeling: He suddenly broke into a passion of bitter words.
9. violent anger.
10. the state of being acted upon or affected by something external, esp. something alien to one’s nature or one’s customary behavior (contrasted with action).
11. (often initial capital letter) Theology.

a. the sufferings of Christ on the cross or His sufferings subsequent to the Last Supper.
b. the narrative of Christ’s sufferings as recorded in the Gospels.
12. Archaic. the sufferings of a martyr.

While i found those definitions interesting, my big brother Spence used to share at shows what is probably my favorite definition of passion: “it’s what makes you come a live.”  He’ll have to remind me who said it, but he would also share a quote that went something like this: “what the world needs is more people who have “come alive”.  So find what is that makes you come alive, and do that”.  Thus said, here’s what makes me come alive”:

  1. Christ and his Calling: what i want most in life is to find it, pursue it without question or worry, and do so with all my heart, for the sake of his Great Commission.
  2. Organizing creative ways to expose and teach others about the Love of Christ so that they too want to follow hard after him.
  3. Music – i listen to it, play it, live it, breathe it, teach it, dream it, and create it.
  4. Enjoying Life – i think life should be full of laughter and fun whenever possible.  My saying has always been “Success does not lead to happiness, happiness leads to success.” While it’s corny (i know…) i believe it and try to practice it.  Settling is just plain LAME!

Now it’s your turn.  What are you passionate about?  Reply to this blog and share what makes you “come alive”.  I want to use it for something 🙂

-Nate

5 Comments

  1. michaelbreza said,

    I am passionate about people. I love meeting new people and delving into their lives. I have sitting up late with friends and talking about the wild times of our lives, the dreams, the desires that we will pursue. I love sharing my life and embraces others. I love listening to stories. I love walking through Barnes & Noble just to watch people. Or going through grocery store, praying for those just trying get to the next aisle. Coffee shops with people that can tell a lifetime of stories without saying a word. I like to read people wherever I am. That is what makes me come alive.

  2. Spencer said,

    That quote is from Harold Whitman.

    Myself? I’m passionate about seeing others “come alive” if you will. That’s why I do what I do, whether it be with students or with song. I like being a part of that moment where someone finally gets it – finally realizes what God created them to be. I love being used to help in that process. Sometimes it’s someone finding faith in Jesus. Sometimes it’s people just doing what they were made to do. Like you and a drum. Like Breza and a vibe. That’s what I’m all about.

  3. Jon Smock said,

    # 9. Just kidding.

    I’m still figuring out my passions, but I know I love teaching. The word “teaching” has evolved for me…probably to “marketing”, but regardless it’s something I love. I also love to build things – websites, legos, coffeetables (ok that one was just a repair). Finally, I love to learn. It’s not something that I’ve really recognized lately, but learning something new is probably the most exciting thing to me.

  4. Jon Smock said,

    I forgot spontaneity and people…who else are you going to go to the Diner at 2 am with? (Actually…both of the other guys above)

  5. bethieboo said,

    I”m passionate about you nate…….muhahahhahaaaaaaaaaa

    (just kidding spencer, my stud husband).

    Ummm, I’m passionate about helping people experience freedom in living for Christ. THere’s nothing better than to see someone break away from chains that have held them down for far too long. I”m sure i have other passions, but i must go to the bathroom!

Leave a Reply

