With ALL Your Heart

January 21, 2008 at 3:42 pm (Passion) (, )

I have to say that i just came back from one of the most incredible weekends I’ve had in a long time.  It included Gerry’s surprise 60th birthday sock-hop (which Wayne, Beth, and Spence did an AMAZING job at even though they were all feeling fairly ill), seeing and catching up with A LOT of people that are very special too me, watching some football with my Dad, and visiting a sweet church down in DC.   There was a lot of traveling involved, which doesn’t typically make for a relaxing weekend, but for some reason, I had one of the sweetest solo car trips I’ve had as well.  I left early Saturday morning and the BEAUTIFUL morning sky, accompanied by Phil Wickham’s newest Album Cannons, was one of those moments i’ll never forget.

Anyway, Sunday morning i had the opportunity to visit the church in VA the DC crowd attends and heard an awesome sermon that i had to blog about.  He was continuing a series about the life of Moses and his focus was “Seeking Hard After God” and in a nutshell it spoke on how Moses was so passionate about seeing God’s glory and because of that God answered his request to see him ten-fold.  It was a great message, but what really hit me was how he related it to other major figures like Paul and David who were set-apart because they had a deeper passion for their Lord.  Like it says in Jeremiah 29:13 “You will seek seek me and find me when you seek me with all of your heart“.  The preacher also spoke on how that sort of passion is always accompanied by suffering and that if we are serious about seeking HARD after God, we should not only expect to suffer, but welcome it as an opportunity for God to bring us into a more intimate relationship with him.  He used a quote from A.W. Tozer (i think) i really liked which said “suffering burns out shallowness” .  While it may be easy to type that, it is a tough thing to grasp; but i can honestly say that that is what i want in my life.  I want to follow him WHOLE HEARTEDLY, I want to know him intimately, and if that means going through a lot of suck to get there, it will be worth it.  (something i’ve learned a little bit about already being a first year teacher…)  I don’t know what else to say to that but “it’s time to start expecting and welcoming it, with a WILLING heart.” Dang!

On a side note, i really appreciated this post by Mike and i felt challenged by it.  If you haven’t read it…check it out!

2 Comments

  1. bethieboo said,

    WOw, thanks Nate for posting about this…it gave me encouragement. I often find myself relating to David due to his passion and yet I moan and groan with all of the struggle that goes along with it. Jeremiah 29:13 has been going through my head for awhile now I just haven’t done anything about it. IT’s time to take action. 🙂

  2. stephaleena said,

    this entry is pretty amazing/encouraging/humbling/thought provoking

Leave a Reply

