God Hears The Heart

January 25, 2008 at 2:11 am (Books, Passion) (, )

 This is an excerpt i just read from Dallas Willard’s “Renovation of the Heart.  I really liked it and it gave me a new perspective:

“The Heart (will, spirit) is precisely what God observes and addresses in human beings.  He cares little or nothing about outward show.  He responds to the heart because it is, above all, who we are: who we choose and have chosen to be.  What God wants of us can only come from there.  He respects the centrality of our will and will not override it.  He seeks godly character in us and for us, to fulfill the eternal destiny he has in mind for us.

While awesome, it’s also a little scary to me.  It really made me think about how it’s up to me to make the initial step towards that kind of character and that destiny.  Not that i make that step alone, but that i need to be the initiator.  I hope and pray that I make that initial step in the right direction.

*side note:  I still stand by the fact that this book is a must-read for anyone trying to discern or follow their calling.  If you can’t get this book, talk to me and i’ll get it for you one way or another.  Thats a promise.

2 Comments

  1. marikolynn said,

    🙂

  2. mrwcase said,

    sounds like a sweet book…i’ll have to check it out

    i am in a pickle…i am trying to discern what God’s calling is for me and what he wants me to be…sometimes i think that the calling is a large one…like doctor

    and other days i feel like my only calling should be to be a son of God and follow my Father wherever he is leading…so i wonder if it’s less about the job and more about the people and places and things that give us a better glimpse of the broken heart of God and how we can be a part of mending the mess we have made

    idk…but i maybe this book will provide some insight

    you should come to state college for THON…i think mariko and melissa with both be here…maybe we can convince breza to come and have a big ol’ bash

Leave a Reply

