In honor of the oscars…

February 25, 2008 at 12:40 am (Movies)

I’ve been home sick the past few days, but this has allowed me to do some relaxing reading.  I came across this neat quiz in USA Today that i thought would be fun to throw your way, especially since the Oscars are going to be on in, well, 10 minutes!  Below are 10 famous catch-phrases from 10 previous oscar winning films.  Can you guess what movie they are from?  Answers will be posted next Sunday.  I couldn’t get that many, but maybe you can do better?

DISCLAIMER:  This post is by no means trying to steal the thunder of breza’s occasional movie quote posts.

  1. “Show me the money!”
  2. “Why didn’t you take off all your clothes?  You could’ve stopped 40 cars.”
  3. “Luca Brazzi sleeps with the fishes.”
  4. “Oh, you betcha, yah.”
  5. “You talkin to me? You talkin to me? You talkin to me? Then who the hell else are you talkin… You talkin to me?”
  6. “La-de-dah!”
  7. “If anyone orders Merlot, I’m leaving”
  8. “Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night!”
  9. “Uh-oh, 12 minutes to Wapner.”
  10. “I see dead people.”

Have fun! Good Luck! Winner gets a milkshake on me…now don’t cheat!

4 Comments

  1. leunhomme said,

    1. Jerry Mcguire.
    5. Taxi
    10. Sixth sense.

  2. natereed said,

    by the way, i’m not approving any comments until next Sunday either 🙂

  3. Jason said,

    1 Jerry Maguire, 3 Godfather, 5 Taxi Driver, 6 Annie Hall, 7 Sideways, 10 The Sixth Sense

    I assume the others are older? Hmm…

  4. Jon Smock said,

    I’m terrible at these movies actually. So this is all I got:

    1. Jerry Maguire
    2. I think it’s either On the Waterfront or My Fair Lady. I’m like 80% on My Fair Lady, so that’s my answer. (Emily definitely knows, but I’m not going to check and ask her)
    3. No clue
    4. Groundhog Day? I can hear it in my head, I just can’t place it – argh! (Might be Fargo…argh)
    5. Godfather
    6. Forget
    7. Casablanca?
    8. Probably should know it, but don’t
    9. ?
    10. Sixth Sense

    Bonus quotes:
    “I must’ve drank me fifteen Dr. Peppers.” (easy, but great)
    “I know you can fight. But it’s our wits that make us men. ” (ok, also easy)
    “No, you don’t get to tell me what to do.. ever… again.”

    And, one for the ladies:
    “I don’t exactly know what I am required to say in order for you to have intercourse with me. But could we assume that I said all that. I mean essentially we are talking about fluid exchange right? So could we go just straight to the sex. “

Leave a Reply

