I’m OK with this….really!!

April 21, 2008 at 1:45 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve wanted to write on this topic for a while, but before you start to judge or make any assumptions about this post, you need to know that this entry is not me yelling at any person, groups of people, or any one in particular.  I just feel the need to speak my heart on my current relationship status and to speak to others that are in a similar situation.  I’m single….and completely OK with it.

I feel it is inevitable to escape “comments” when a single guy (or girl) is surrounded by couples.  In my situation, i live in Williamsport and just about all the people i know here are, in fact, married, and it is not uncommon for people to try to “pull the set-up” or really nudge me towards another available female.  While it is flattering and i appreciate the fact that people feel the need to help me out, you should know that i really don’t need it.  Here’s why:

  1. I like being single, especially right out of college because i can do what i want, when i want and no one can really say anything about it.  BOOYAH
  2. It’s just me and God right now, which is what it needs to be because he’s no done getting me ready for any relationship to come.
  3. Question: Do I desire to get married?  Answer: ABSOLUTELY….someday…and i firmly believe that God has instilled that passion inside of me for my future spouse and family.  He’s also got it all planned out being the perfect match maker and all and he doesn’t need your help.
  4. i just can’t plain afford it right now….just bein’ honest
  5. If all else fails…I’m Nate Freiken Reed, aka, the definition of sexy!  (haha jk 🙂

So if you feel the need to suggest a person or make a comment, know that i appreciate your thoughtfulness, but you need not invest any energy in trying to figure it out for me.  If anything, you can pray for the one that i will spend the rest of my life with as i do, and when that day comes, you can celebrate along with me as we will both know that God’s perfect plan has come to fruition…which it will 🙂  And that gets me excited!

I’m sorry this post has been a little long winded, but i want to end with this.  THANK YOU to all of the married couples that currently surrounded my life for your example and transparency.  Because of you all, i have learned a WHOLE LOT about what the first few years of marriage are like and hopefully i can follow your successes and learn from your…shall i say “non-successes”.  I love you all dearly and hopefully now you can understand a little more of where I’m at right now.  Much love!

-n

7 Comments

  1. Brian said,

    Nate, I have someone I want you to meet …. oh wait … 😛

  2. Jon Smock said,

    Good post – I guess I should take down those classifieds I put in all the local papers….in all the surrounding areas. And I should shut down the Match.com profile I created for you.

    Dude, being single rocks, and sometimes I miss it. Don’t tell Emily.

  3. Spencer said,

    PreACH ON BROTHER! I LOOOOOOVED BEING SINGLE,……THAT IS, OF COURSE, TIL I MET SPENCER……BUT I’M JUST SAYING…….I’M ALL FOR SINGLENESS…..UNLESS OF COURSE, YOU HAVE THE CHANCE TO BE MARRIED TO SPENCER………….YUP

  4. Spencer said,

    PS……that was beth that wrote that last comment, not spencer…….i repeat…..not spencer…..i didn’t realize he was logged into wordpress and not me….again…..this beth….spencer’s hot wife……

  5. Spencer said,

    You let all these comments go but you deleted MY COMMENT??? (the real one I left you last night, not the ones Beth left under my name…)

  6. marikolynn said,

    single and a rockstar!!!!…I’m right there with ya! 🙂

  7. MOM said,

    I’m not worried! I have been praying for your future spouse since before you were born!

Leave a Reply

