a bittersweet, but exciting announcement

May 27, 2008 at 2:57 am (Music, Passion)

In my time at Penn State, i felt God telling me that eventually i would be a part of some full-time ministry at some point in my life.  I always figured that it would be later on down the road once i had gathered up some security, paid off the loans, and had my descent sized house with a white picket fence, somewhere in suburbia.  I should’ve known that God usually has something completely different in store. This past year has been filled with a lot of things, mostly positive things i’m proud to report.  But as suggested, God was sirring up something beyond anything i could’ve ever come up with on my own and now it’s come to fruition.

As soon as this school year has completed, i have accepted a position that was offered to me earlier this month with McLean Bible Church in Tyson’s Corner, VA (just outside of DC – more to come on the church later).   I am going to be taking part of a large church’s calling to reach secular DC, with the hope that if we reach the nations capital for Christ, we can impact the rest of our nation.  I will be working with and training up many different adult and collegiate worship teams, learning to oversee all matters creative arts (visual, audio, behind the scenes etc.) while having an opportunity to lead worship with some of our nations most talented worship leaders and players.  It’s something i’m totally thrilled about because i get to employ all things I love and am interested in, and make it my ministry.  Unfortunately this is all going to happen very quickly as my position is effective June 15th.

While I am ecstatic, I do face the harsh reality of leaving behind some incredible people that I will miss dearly, and a job that has taught me more then i could’ve ever expected.  I couldn’t have asked for a better year.  I enjoyed a challenging but never boring job, lived with two of my favorite people, made some unforgettable memories with my friends, and learned a lot about my limits, my capabilities, my short comings, and, as my blog suggests, my passions.  There isn’t one thing about this past year that I regret or would change and i now see how it all has prepared me for this next step.

Some might ask why i feel i need to leave all i have here and my answer will always be this:  because i know it’s what God has in store for me and he has made it more clear then anything i’ve ever known.  And thats something i can’t say no to.  Thats the news for now; more to come as moving day gets closer, but for now, i have a school year to complete.

3 Comments

  1. Jessie said,

    hey i’m just glad you’re going to be kickin it in my neighborhood!

  2. bethieboo said,

    I’M WEEPING WITH SADNESS

  3. stephaleena said,

    so long, sucka!

Leave a Reply

