a tough day

June 6, 2008 at 7:35 pm (Uncategorized)

Today was a tough day…it was the last day with kids at school. My 7th and 8th grade choir sang beautifully at the end of year assembly, i had a handful of students give me fresh cut roses from their mothers garden, received a few cards with very touching notes in it, was given a scrap book from my musical kids, and received a potted plant from the other teachers. I definitely found myself in tears a few times today realizing that i probably won’t see many of these kids ever again.

Even though i’m leaving at the end of next week for an awesome job opportunity, that dosen’t mean i didn’t like my job here. I actually really enjoyed it. It wasn’t always easy and i definitely had to overcome A LOT of things and had some really tough times/issues to deal with, but overall it was a really great situation. I LOVED my kids and will miss them dearly no matter how much of a butthead some of them were at times. I LOVED the teachers i worked with and made some very close friendships that will continue even after i leave. I really couldn’t have asked for a better starting job and definitely don’t count this year as a waste. The things i learned at that school will stay with me as i become a future parent and future teacher as i very well may return to the classroom after a while (who knows…) The best thing of all, was seeing how i was able to be a positive example for a lot of kids who don’t see it anywhere else and to really feel the appreciation they had for it…it’s unreal.

It’s definitely not going to be easy leaving town, however i do know that everything has worked out and will continue to work out the way God has intended it and I look forward to the adventure that has already begun with McLean. I’m also glad that my classroom will be left in much more suitable hands πŸ™‚ k, now it’s time to get ready for our awesome roaring twenties party tonight…this will be awesome!!!

1 Comment

  1. Jon Smock said,

    Your McLean link is dead πŸ˜‰ One too many http’s in there.

    I’m really going to miss you, man. It really hasn’t hit me until the past couple of weeks. Now I’m sad. πŸ™‚ I’m proud of you though; I’m excited to hear what God has in store for you. We’ll visit :-D.

Leave a Reply

