I suck at it too!

June 17, 2009 at 3:40 am (Uncategorized)

This past year, one of the things I’ve been praying hard about is my self-centered-ness.  I really can’t stand it; yet I seem to be so good at it (that’s a bad thing by the way…).  Anyway, God has been teaching me some interesting and tough lessons this year which I didn’t really expect.  Though I guess I really should have since I was asking him for it.  He gave me another unexpected one tonight, which I thought I would share.

I was driving home late, around 10PM when I was called by a guy asking me to take a survey.  Why he waited until 10PM to call me, I don’t know, but he did.  He asked if I was available to answer some questions and I told him that it wasn’t a good time to.  He asked if he could call back, and I said sure and hung up.  I wasn’t a jerk, but at the same time I wasn’t very pleasant.  Did I lie to him, maybe a little, but to be honest, I just wasn’t really in the mood.  After I hung up, God decided to drop the teachable moment on my lap.  I started thinking, “You know, if that guy had a choice, he probably wouldn’t be making survey calls at 10PM on a Tuesday night.”  Maybe he did have a choice, maybe he didn’t, but what I do know, is that all he was trying to do was work his job and he was just following instructions from his company.

Now don’t get me wrong, I get bothered about telemarketers, just as much as the next guy does, but especially in the economic situation our country is still in, a lot of people are lucky to even have jobs right now.  So what business is it of mine to get upset when someone, who probably can’t find anything else to pay the bills at the moment, calls me to try to do just that.  For all I know, he or she could have been laid off of another job, with hungry kids at home and no spouse.  Or it could be some college kid who’s just trying to do whatever to pay for school.  Or it could be someone who was new to the country and couldn’t land a job anywhere else and needs to pay rent. Does it mean that I need to support, purchase, or agree with every telemarketer that calls me?  Not at all, but I do owe it to them to respectful, courteous, and encouraging.  Maybe even see how they are doing cause I’m sure almost every day includes a lot of rude and angry responses.  I’m sure that’s what Christ would do.  I know I would hate my job if I had to talk to hundreds of rude and angry people a day.  Shame on me if I ever act as if I’m any better then the people on the other side of the line.

Anyway, that’s the lesson I learned tonight.  Do with it what you will.

1 Comment

  1. raptureryders said,

    I like the perspective. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

