Countdown to Haiti…3 Days

August 25, 2010 at 2:51 am (Uncategorized)

I’ll post more  before I leave, but I have to say, there is so much to do and so little time.  We leave for Haiti at 3AM Saturday morning and I get more and more excited, or did I mean anxious, each day.  In terms of the trip, we know a little about what we MIGHT be doing, and I say might because everything could change once we get own there.  We were selected to do a lot of children’s programing for the thousands upon thousands of kids who have been out of school since the quake.  I learned that over 8,000 teachers were killed during the quake so you can imagine that the education system, aside to every other system, is in disarray.  So the plan is to run sports camps and Educational VBS classes for what could be anywhere between 50 and 500+ kids.  We are going to be stationed in Petit Guave, which is the area that our church already has a connection to, so that should be helpful.  We will be running these camps by day, and possibly doing some sort of community activities in the evening including showing movies in French on concrete walls to provide the people with something to take their minds off the massive tent cities and food/supplies shortages.  There will be other things that we will be doing down there as well in addition to all of this, but like I said, this is all subject to change so we are also going to be prepared to anything and everything in the name of the gospel of Christ.  One thing is for sure, we’re going to try to beat the heat as much as possible (the average heat index this past week was 120… yikes!)

I’ll post some prayer requests for myself and the team the day before we leave so check back for that later, but for now, I wanted to thank all of you for your generosity in supporting us.  Many of you have already been huge prayer partners in this and many of you have given sacrificially to make this possible for us to go.  I celebrate the fact that I have reached my personal fundraising goal (Praise God!), however, some of the other team members have not and we are a bit short still as a team.  If you are still considering partnering with us in this effort, you can still do so before, during, and after the trip.  Refer to my previous post for instructions on how to do that if you feel led to.

I feel like there are a million things to do and say, but I need to get back to curriculum writing and organizing materials.  I’ve loved pouring a ton of time into planning out our VBS sessions as it has brought me back to my days of writing lesson plans and being creative with teaching.  Praise God that I still have it in me 🙂  Now lets see if we actually get to implement it.  Thanks again for your prayers and like I said, I’ll hit you up with some specific prayer requests later in the week.

Love you all!

Leave a Reply

