Haiti Bound!

August 28, 2010 at 4:01 am (Uncategorized)

Hey Everyone,

At this point, my bags are packed, all my errands have been frantically run, I’m pretty exhausted, but I’m  getting excited because I am now on my way to Haiti!  This ultimately means that you won’t get any more updates from me until I get back in the states, but as they say in mission trip travel, “no news is good news.”  You can bet I’ll have a lot to say when I get back.  Until then, I wanted to share a few prayer requests for our team and myself as we head down to Petit Guave to serve:

  • First and foremost, pray that Christ would be glorified through EVERYTHING we do.  From all the prep we’ve done, to everything we do in country, to the follow up after the trip, we desire to see Christ’s name made famous.
  • For the children we will be working with.  Pray that they grow closer to Christ, and that they are encouraged and edified by the lessons and activities that we lead them through.
  • For the community we’ll be in.  We already have a great relationship with them as a church.  Pray that we can find ways to serve the adults and community members we get to interact with
  • For beating the heat!  The average heat index with humidity has been sitting around 120 degrees over the past week.  Pray that we stay hydrated, stay “un-burnt”, and stay overall really healthy.  About half of our team got sick this week already, so pray that it doesn’t spread through the rest of us.
  • For our team.  For half the guys on this trip, it’s their first mission trip and Haiti is as Third-world as you can get, especially post-disaster.  Pray that our view of God is widened immensely and that we don’t leave the country unchanged.
  • For our team leaders Mike and Josh who have done an incredible amount of work organizing this trip.  Pray that they would be able to lead us in an effective and God-honoring way.
  • Finally, pray for me, that I can be an encouragement to our team members, that I would be stripped of every selfish and prideful inclination within me and that I would pour myself out for the people of Haiti and my team members over this next week.  I want to love others in ways I have never have before, and I pray that it is born out of a genuine love for people.

Colossians 1:28-29 says, “We proclaim HIM, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom and understanding, so that we may present everyone perfect in Christ.  To this end I labor, with all HIS energy, which so powerfully works within me.”  It will be my prayer throughout this next week that God would be working through us all and that he would provide us with all we need to glorify Him and to serve the most vulnerable.  I’m ecstatic to see how he will come through in this rip and I’m honored to be able to do this with his help.  I’ll have plenty of pictures and stories to share when I get back, so until then, thank you SO much for your prayers!  Your support means more then you will ever know, so thanks for your faithfulness.

Love you all VERY much!

-nate

1 Comment

  1. dave said,

    Love you bro…hoping/praying you have an amazing time!

    -Dave

Leave a Reply

